# 49<sup>th</sup> Annual Educational Conference "Protecting the Health and Well Being of Our Citizens"



## February 11-13, 2019 Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa Lexington, Kentucky

#### Monday, February 11th

8:00 am – 12:00 pm R.S. Exam

Salon B

9:00 am – 11:00 am KYEHA Board Meeting/Business Meeting

Salon C

11:00 am – 12:30 pm Environmental Leadership Meeting

Salon C

12:00 pm – 5:00 pm Registration Open

Saxony

12:00 pm Exhibitor and Silent Auction Set Up

Salon E

12:15 pm – 5:00 pm Field Trip to Country Boy Brewery

Meet in hotel lobby to carpool @ 12:15

Field Trip Leaders: To be determined

5:30 pm – 6:30 pm President's Reception - Terrace Ballroom

Please join us for finger foods, complimentary domestic

beer and house wine, non-alcoholic beverages

Compliments of the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort & Spa

#### **Field Trip Information**

Country Boy Brewery

Lane's Run Business Park

108 Corporate Blvd

Georgetown, KY 40324

No open toe shoes or jewelry allowed

ID required

Please be prepared to carpool!

#### Tuesday, February 12th

7:30 am Registration Open Saxony

7:30 am Coffee Salon E

General Session Salons A, B, C and D

8:00 am Call to Order

Jessica Davenport, President

Kentucky Environmental Health Association

8:05 am Invocation

Heath Stone, Health Environmentalist

Bullitt County Health Department

8:10 am – 8:15 am President's Welcome and Address

Jessica Davenport, President

Kentucky Environmental Health Association

8:15 am — 9:15 am Dr. David Dyjack, Executive Director of the National

**Environmental Health Association** 

9:15 am – 9:30 am Coffee Break Salon E

9:30 am - 10:30 am Category 8 Pesticide Training

Kentucky Department of Agriculture

10:30 am – 11:30 am Hep A (HAV) Outbreak investigation and what we need to know

about HAV in Food Service Establishments

Katie Myatt, Reportable Disease Section Manager, DPH

Luke Mathis, Environmental Director, LFCHD

11:35 am – 1:15 pm Awards Luncheon Bluegrass Pavilion

\*\*Ticket Required\*\*

**Division Updates** 

Rebecca Gillis, Director

Division of Public Health Protection and Safety

Parade of Exhibitors

Charlie Ward, KYEHA Vice President KYEHA Exhibits Committee Chair

**Awards Presentations** 

Charlie Ward, KYEHA Vice President KYEHA Awards Committee Chair

Dr. John Poe Award presented by Rebecca Gillis

#### Concurrent Sessions A (Salons A, B and C) and B (Salon D)

1:15 pm - 2:00 pm

A- Bats and Rabies, "What we need to know from different

Agency perspectives.

Dr. Kelly Giesbrecht, DVM, MPH, State Public Health

Veterinarian, KDPH

Representative from Kentucky Department of Fish and

Wildlife Resources (TBD)

B- Radon

William Hanebereg,

2:00 pm - 2:45 pm

A- "Environmental Strike Teams – The importance of being

Prepared/EMAC/Funding/When do we deploy?

Jared Crase, Environmentalist, KDPH

Jim House, Public Health Preparedness Branch Manager, KDPH

**B-** Pest Management

Ray Hardebeck, Permakil Pest Control

2:45 pm - 3:00 pm

**BREAK** 

Salon E

3:00 pm – 3:45 pm A- Special processes and Reduced Oxygen Packaging

Lori LeMaster, State of Tennessee

B- Dr. Dyjack, Need topic

3:45 pm – 4:30 pm A- KDPH legislative update and update on regulations

Curt Pendergrass, Assistant Director, KDPH

Ken Spach, Environmental Management Branch Manager,

**KDPH** 

Pam Hendren, Food Safety Branch Manager, KDPH

B- Lead

Bethlyn Shepherd, Epidemiologist Lead poisoning prevention

Program, KDPH

4:30 pm – 6:00 pm Student Mixer Terrace Ballroom

Please join us for a social mixer with students and professionals

Finger foods and Cash Bar

**Compliments of KYEHA and EKU** 

#### Wednesday, February 13<sup>th</sup>

7:30 am Registration Opens Saxony

General Session Salons A, B, C and D

8:00 am Welcome and Announcements

8:00 am – 9:00 am Managing Suspicious Packages/Substances (White Powder)

**Incidents** 

FBI Agent (TBD)

Jim House, Preparedness Branch Manager, KDPH Leigh Ann Bates, Preparedness Supervisor, KDPH

9:00 am – 10:00 am Outbreak investigation and lab procedures

Carol Rush, Foodborne and Waterborne Diseases Epidemiologist

KDPH

10:00 am – 10:15 am Coffee Break Salon E

\*\*Silent Auction bids will close after the morning coffee break\*\*

10:15 am – 11:15 am Mosquito, Tick drag surveillance data, West Nile Virus, what's next

Dr. Ken Blank, Eastern Kentucky University

11:15 am – 12:15 pm ReadyOp, What is it? What do I need to know about it? Can it be

used in Environmental Program?

Jim House, Preparedness Branch Manager

Justin Pittman, Deputy Director, Three Rivers District Health

Department

12:15 – 12:25 pm

Passing of the Gavel

49th Annual Education Conference Concludes

#### **KYEHA Executive Board Members**

President Jessica Davenport
President Elect Gene Thomas
Vice President Charles Ward III
Treasurer Laura Strevels
Secretary Sue Jewell
Region I Directors Jay Fillman

Joel Barrett

Region II DirectorsMargaret Ann VickRegion III DirectorsScott Nethery

Kathy Fowler

**Vacant** 

Region IV DirectorVonia GrabeelRegion V DirectorsNathan Powell

Annhall Norris Erica Brakefield Dr. Clint Pinion

Region VI Directors Justin Pittman

Brittany Wells Jackie Cole

Region VII DirectorJackie ColeIndustry At LargeDr. Gary Brown

Jeff Lanter Carl Rust

Parliamentarian Heath Stone

## **KYEHA Committee Chairpersons**

**Administrative & Procedures** Vonia Grabeel **Audit Gene Thomas Awards** Charlie Ward **Budget Gene Thomas Gene Thomas Program Exhibits** Don Jacobs Legislative Joel Barrett Membership Leanna Caven **Nominating** Charlie Ward **Publications** Justin Pittman

Scholarship Brittany Wells
Silent Auction Nathan Powell

**Hotel Procurement**Jessica Davenport & Erica Brakefield
Ad Hoc Interstate Executive Planning
Erica Brakefield & Vonia Grabeel

Ad Hoc Student Kenny Cole

Ad Hoc Website Webmaster **Photographer** 

Justin Pittman Kevin Kinnaird Kenny Cole

#### **Past Presidents**

1970 – Jim McDowell 1971 - Irvin Bell 1972 – Donald Colgan 1973 – Dudley Conner 1974 – Dr. James Hartley 1975 - Bruce Lane 1976 - James Spillman 1977 – Harry Marsh 1978 – Barry Kinslow 1979 – Tom Coomes 1980 - Leon Townsend 1981 – Dr. Bruce Langlois 1982 - Dr. Bruce Langlois 1983 - Betty Kelly

1984 – John Bruce Mattingly

1985 – John Draper 1986 - Bland Dorris 1987 - Dale Marcum 1988 - Porter Bailey 1989 – Edsel Moore 1990 – David Klee 1991 - Rick Molohon

1992 – Holly Coleman 1993 – Anita Travis 1994 - George Heady

1995 – Guy Delius

1996 - Keith Brock 1997 - Ed Cecil

1998 - Jim Wesley

1999 – Johnny Summers

2000 - Tim Wright

2001 - David Burton

2002 - Sam Burnette

2003 - Sue Jewell

2004 - Laura Strevels

2005 - Tony White

2006 – Matt Rhodes

2007 - Vonia Grabeel

2008 - Tony Hall

2009 – Heath Stone

2010 - Angela Billings

2011 - Jeff Edelen

2012 - Kenny Cole

2013 - Stacy Roof

2014 - Leslie Cobb

2015 - Dr. D. Gary Brown

2016 - Erica Brakefield

2017 - Don Jacobs

2018 – Jessica Davenport

Thank you for attending our Annual Conference

Please join us in 2020

at the Holiday Inn Cincinnati Airport in Erlanger, Kentucky Tuesday, February 11 – Thursday February 13, 2020

www.kyeha.org

#### **Conference Sponsors and Exhibitors**

Gold

Kroger

**Elite** 

**Custom Data Processing (CDP)** 

#### **Premium**

Western Kentucky University – Environmental and Occupational Health
Science Program

**Non-Profit** 

Kentucky Environmental Strike Team and Preparedness Branch

NSF International

### **Additional Thanks**

Conference programs provided by Kroger

Speaker Honorariums compliments of the Kentucky Registered
Sanitarians Examining Committee

Monday evening President's Reception compliments of the Griffin Gate

Marriott Resort & Spa

We truly want to extend our thanks to each and every one of our conference sponsors, exhibitors, and contributors for making our 49<sup>th</sup> annual conference an event to remember.